It is important to make sure that you are receiving the minimum wage for your work during the COVID-19 pandemic. Many employers are laying off workers, or cutting their hours and pay. Regardless of the situation, if you are still performing work, your employer must pay you the correct minimum wage for your City, County, or State. This includes factoring in time spent working “off-the-clock” into your hourly rate.
California Hourly Minimum Wage Rates
The current California minimum wage is $13.00 per hour for large employers with 26 or more employees, and $12.00 per hour for small employers with 25 employees or fewer.
California Minimum Salary Requirements
Even salaried employees must be paid a minimum wage in California. The current minimum annual salary that must be paid to employees is $54,080 for large employers with 26 or more employees, and $49,920 for small employers with 25 employees or fewer.
Read more about employment requirements for salaried workers.
City of Los Angeles and Unincorporated County of Los Angeles Minimum Wage
The minimum wage for those that work within unincorporated areas of Los Angeles County and the City of Los Angeles is higher than the minimum wage set by the State of California. It is $14.25 per hour for large employers with 26 or more employees, and $13.25 per hour for small employers with 25 employees or fewer.
Read more about the unincorporated Los Angeles County minimum wage.
Does The Minimum Wage Apply to Independent Contractors?
Generally, no. However many workers who are told they are independent contractors are actually legally supposed to be classified as employees. Especially with recent changes to California law, many gig workers, freelancers, and independent contractors should be classified as employees who are entitled to receive minimum wage, overtime wages, and other employment benefits.
Read more about independent contractor law.
Questions? Call PARRIS Employment Attorneys
If you have questions about whether you are being treated fairly and legally by your employer, give us a call at (661) 485-2072 or reach out to contact us here. We always offer free case consultations. We accept all of our cases on a contingency fee basis, which means that you pay no fees until we win you compensation.